South Carolina
County Council
Home  >> County Council 
Contact Info
Clerk to Council
Betty C. Walsh
100 Hillcrest Square - Administration Building
PO Box 445
Laurens , SC  29360
Phone: 864-984-5214
Fax: 864-984-3726
Office Hours: 9:00 A.M. / 5:00 P.M. – Monday thru Friday

   The General Assembly of South Carlina chartered Laurens County to operate under the "Council Form of Government" with passage of the Local Government  Law (Home Rule Act). 

   Laurens County Council is composed of seven (7) members, each of whom are elected from a single-member district.  Each Council Member serves a four-year, staggered term.  During one election cycle, three (3) seats of Council (Districts 1,4, and 5) are up for election.  During the next cycle, four (4) Council seats (Districts 2, 3, 6 and 7) are up for election.  The County Council Chair and Vice Chair positions are nominated and appointed among the full Council. The Vice Chairman carries out the duties of the Chairman in his / her absence. 

    Laurens County Council serves as the legislative, policy-making body for Laurens County Government through the adoption of budgets, ordinances, policy and procedure and resolutions.  The seven (7) Member Council is considered a "Council Form of Government".

   The County Council conducts regular monthly meetings at 5:30 P.M. on the second (2nd) and fourth (4th) Tuesday of every month.  Meetings are conducted upstairs in the Historic Courthouse located on the Public Square in Downtown Laurens.  All regular sessions of Council are open to the public to attend.

   County Council also has appointed (by the Chair) County Council Committee's that meet on an as need basis.  Usually as requested by the Chair of County Council.


County Council District #2
Joseph E. Wood, Jr., Chairman

County Council District #5
P. Keith Tollision, Vice Chairman 

County Council District #1
Ted G. Nash

County Council District #3
Garrett C. McDaniel

County Council District #4
Stewart O. Jones

County Council District #6
Diane B. Anderson

County Council District #7 
David A. Pitts        

Laurens County Council District Map HERE.

View County Council Agendas and  Minutes HERE.

View Annual Financial Statements HERE